Enlightenment IV

Perhaps tracking one topic through multiple days is not the best idea…

The four noble truths and the eightfold noble path certainly point in a positive direction for living as a human being.  Or, more accurately, the eightfold noble path points in that direction.

It occurs to me that it’s possible the two things (four noble truths and the eightfold noble path) were not originally part of the same teaching.

Here’s a simple breakdown of the four noble truths: 1) there is suffering, 2) there is a cause of suffering, 3) there is an end to suffering, 4) there is a cause of ending suffering.

Now, what if the eightfold noble path was simply eight noble undertakings for living as a human being…  I once came up with a simple acronym for the eight folds:

CALMEST-U

Concentration, Action, Livelihood, Meditation, Effort, Speech, Thought, and Understanding…

Ok, I’ve officially gone off the thread of the likelihood of achieving permanent enlightenment.  I believe I started by assuming ultimate enlightenment to be a state of being completely unperturbed; never being disturbed by anything.  Is it possible that a human being can be permanently undisturbed?  Yes.  Is it likely?  No.

Going back to the teaching attributed to Buddha, I don’t know that he would have ever said, if you do such and such, you will be enlightened.  It seems more likely he would have said, if you want to be relatively content with living as a human, the middle way can help.  And, since all phenomena are impermanent, this effort to walk the path of the middle way will require relatively constant vigilance.

It’s important to note that the statement, all phenomena are impermanent, is the only truth.  That statement may not sound true to someone.  And that’s ok.  Another version of the statement may be simply that everything changes.  And, moment to moment, everything does change.  And, every change has a cause.

Ok, I have a bad memory, but I just remembered why I got so concerned with the eightfold path a year or so ago.  One of the notions attributed to Buddha is the idea that impermanence is the ultimate truth.  And, that when one realizes the truth of impermanence, one achieves enlightenment.  In my experience, when I saw the truth of impermanence, I didn’t achieve enlightenment, I could simply see that everything (and I mean EVERYTHING) is subject to cause and effect, and this, believe it or not, even applies to thinking and feeling.

I’m usually pretty good at connecting the dots, but I can’t see how the eightfold noble path could lead to the realization of impermanence.

Having chased these concepts around for a number of years, I was a little disappointed that there isn’t an ultimate realization that will make me suddenly free from angst.  On the other hand, perhaps the unique nature of being human is that we’re the only animal to have the privilege of struggling with how to be the best version of ourselves.

Enough out of me, for now, and enough on enlightenment (for now).

Life is good, Live it well, and, Thanks for listening…  🙂

Leave a comment